Events Calendar



Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

iNaturalist City Nature Challenge 2021

April 30, 2021 - May 4, 2021

City Nature Challenge INaturalist

Let us knock the socks off the rest of the world and showcase the Garden Route!

Terrestrial area: 3387738 Hectare, (33877.68 square kilometers).

This challenge is open to everyone and anyone. Whether you upload 1 observation, 100 or 1000 observations, you are welcome.
The City Nature Challenge runs from 00h00 on the 30 April 2021 through to 24h00 on the 09 May 2021.
The observation period is run over 4 days, thus 30 April 2021 to 03 May 2021. All observations must have been taken during this period. Thereafter, up until 09 May 2021 the project remains open to complete uploads and verification of observation.

To follow the overall progress of the challenge visit

Follow us on our dedicated Facebook page

The stats at present indicate that we have:
Currently over 8750 confirmed species in the district

1977+ insects, spiders, and snail species
140+ mammal species recorded
390+ bird species recorded
20+ amphibian’s species
110+ fish species
85+ reptile species
5240+ plants species
380+ fungi, lichens, and protozoans species

Garden Route consists of 7 local municipalities

01) Bitou Municipality, (include the towns of: Plettenberg Bay, Keurboomstrand, Kurland, Kwanokuthula, Nature’s Valley and Wittedrift) 02) George Municipality, (include the towns of: George, Wilderness, Hoekwil, Glentana, Herolds Bay, Victoria Bay, Haarlem, Uniondale, Herold and Noll ) 03) Hessequa Municipality, (include the towns of: Albertinia, Still Bay, Riversdale, Heidelberg, Slangrivier and Witsand) 04) Kannaland Municipality, (include the towns of: Calitzdorp, Zoar, Ladismith and Van Wyksdorp) 05) Knysna Municipality, (include the towns of: Knysna, Sedgefield, Brenton, Buffels Bay, Krantzhoek and Rheenendal) 06) Mossel Bay Municipality, (include the towns of: Boggoms Bay, Brandwag, Buisplaas, Dana Bay, Glentana, Fraaiuitsig, Friemersheim, Great Brak River, Hartenbos, Herbertsdale, Hersham, KwaNonqaba, Little Brak River, Outeniqua Beach, Reebok, Ruiterbos, Southern Cross, Tergniet and Vleesbaai) 07) Oudtshoorn Municipality, (include the towns of: De Rust, Dysselsdorp, Oudtshoorn and Volmoed)

Vegetation communities within the Garden Route

01) Afromontane Forest, 02) Central Mountain Renosterveld, 03) Dune Thicket, 04) Grassy Fynbos, 05) Limestone Fynbos, 06) Little Succulent Karoo, 07) Mountain Fynbos, 08) South and Southwest Coast Renosterveld, 09) Spekboom Succulent Thicket, 10) Valley Thicket,

The area boasts numerous scenic Passes and Poorts traversing a variety of different vegetation types, to name some

Attaquaskloof (Old ox-wagon route),Brakpoort Pass (R328 / TR 33-2),Cloetes Pass (R327),Doringkloof Pass (MR00363),Eilandskop Pass (P1257),Ganzvlei Pass,Huis se Hoogte Pass (P363),Jan Muller Pass (R327),Kruisrivierpoort (P1706),Langhoogte (R305),Moodies Pass (R322),Prinspoort (P1433),Rooikranspoort (R341),Sedgefield Mountain Road (OP6914),Touwsrivier-Sewefontein Pass (P294),Uniondale Poort (P401/R339),Victoria Bay Pass [P350],Wadrift Pass (DR01316)

Most important, enjoy, learn, and experience nature.
But always be responsible.
Respect nature!
Respect other people and property!
Be Safe!
Created by:shauns – September 15, 2020


April 30, 2021
May 4, 2021
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , ,


Shaun Swanepoel